Food Handler Training
Food Handler Training & Classes
Food Handler certification is required for all persons who handle food, utensils or food service equipment in a permitted food establishment. All food staff members are required by law to obtain this certification within 30 days of employment. A copy of this certification for all employees must be maintained on site. Employees, business owners and business operators are subject to citation if staff members are not trained within this time period or if training records are not available.
Employees may obtain food handler certification through any class accredited or licensed by the Texas Department of State Health Services or the American National Standards Institute.
NRH Consumer Health offers DSHS-accredited food handler certification. The cost is $21.00 or $8.00 for those 62 and older. NRH food handler cards are valid for 3 years throughout the State of Texas, DSHS License #89.
The following options are available for obtaining NRH Food Handler Cards:
Online Food Handler Class
Please click here to take our food handler class online.
In Person Food Handler Class
Classes are offered each month by the Neighborhood Services Department.
Spanish Class Schedule
On-Site Food Handler Classes
Businesses requesting an on-site food handler class must have at least 15 employees needing certification. To schedule a class, please call 817-427-6650.
On-site food handler class form
Certified Food Manager
Every food establishment is required by law to have at least one person in charge who is responsible for supervising food preparation and services and has a valid Certified Food Manager certification approved by the Texas Department of State Health Services. The original copy of this certification must be posted in public view inside the food establishment.
Alcoholic BeveragesThere are additional requirements for facilities that serve alcoholic beverages.
Licensing of Food Handler Training Programs
*NEW* ANSI-Accredited Food Handler/Food Managers Senate Bill (SB) 582 of the 84th legislature (2015) amends the Health and Safety Code to establish that a food service worker trained in a food handler training course accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is considered to have met a local health jurisdiction's training, testing, and permitting or registration fee requirements and has reciprocity throughout the State of Texas. This certification must be kept on site at the food handler or food manager's place of business.